Zakir Hussain Presents Masters of Percussion Live In Concert / DVD

About This Product

  • Highlights:

    • Zakir Hussain
    • Live in Performance

A musical feast of percussionists, the Masters of Percussion series of concerts is an outgrowth of Ustad Dr. Zakir Hussain’s renowned tabla duet tours with his father, the legendary Ustad Alla Rakha Khan. Under the direction of Ustad Dr. Zakir Hussain, this invigorating event explores the traditional repertoire of North Indian drumming, encompassing both folk and classical styles and featuring the melodic, or raga, and rhythmic, or tala, music of India.

Recorded live April 21, 2008, at the National Hispanic Cultural Center of New Mexico, Albuquerque, USA, this gathering of some of the world’s greatest percussion players will captivate and excite audiences of all kinds. A thrilling DVD and wonderful musical journey.

“Zakir Hussain’s tabla has spearheaded world music’s journey into jazz, fusion and electronica . . . the continuing work of a master musician who is preserving an ancient tradition even as he continues to innovate within it… the scion of a great percussive legacy.” THE WIRE

“The heritage of virtuoso musicianship combined with genre-crossing, communicative warmth has been passed on to a new generation of Indian artists led by percussion master Zakir Hussain. …Hussain presented “Masters of Percussion”, a splendid combination of music embracing classical ragas, rhythmic fusion sounds and dance… a program fully displaying the great breadth of Indian music.” LA TIMES


  1. Zakir Hussain: tabla
  2. Fazal Qureshi: tabla and kanjira
  3. Taufiq Qureshi: percussion
  4. Niladri Kumar: sitar
  5. Abbos Kosimov: doyra
  6. Ram Kishan: nagada
  7. Dilshad Khan: sarangi
  8. Vijay Chauhan: dholki
  9. Meitei Pung Cholom Performing Troupe-the dancing drummers of Manipur: various percussion

Chapter listing:

  1. Ram Kishan: Nagada.
  2. Meitei Pung Cholom Performing Troupe: Dhol, cholom.
  3. Zakir Hussain and Fazal Qureshi: Tabla duet.
  4. Abbos Kisomov: Doyra.
  5. Vijay Chauhan: Dholki.
  6. Niladri Kumar: Sitar. Accompanied by Zakir Hussain and Taufiq Qureshi.
  7. Taufiq Qureshi: Percussion.
  8. Finale: Full Ensemble.

Disc Info:

Total running time: 02:02:00 minutes
Number of discs: 1
Release year: 2010
Production company: Moment Records
Language(s): English
Subtitles: None
Format: NTSC, Colour
Sound mix: Stereo
Region code: All regions

PRICE : 699 INR (Shipping extra*)

Masters of Percussion : Awesome Fazal Qureshi tabla solo