The Language and Technique of South Indian Percussion featuring T.H. Vikku Vinayakram / DVD

About This Product

  • Highlights:

    • Instructional DVD
    • 2DVD Set
    • Masterclass

The percussion music of South India is unparalleled in its scientific study of rhythm, technical virtuosity and its unique rhythmic language called Konnokol.

Grammy award winner T.H. Vikku Vinayakram, one of the world’s great percussionists and fusion music pioneers, initiates you into this extraordinary world of rhythm.

Integrating the ancient, time-tested Indian oral instruction tradition with DVD technology, Vikku Vinayakram, is featured in this rich and comprehensive step-by-step instructional video.

Musicians of all stripes – hand percussionists, kit drummers, singers, dancers, rappers, composer/arrangers, and specially teachers – will find a lifetime of useful techniques and inspiration in this offering by Ultimate Guru Music.

Disc 1 – Spellbinding 1 hour percussion concert and grooves by Vikku Vinyakram and his sons, Selva Ganesh, Uma Shankar, and Mahesh Vinayakram.

Chapter listing:

  1. Play Concert.
  2. Invocation.
  3. Shiv Tandav.
  4. Ghatam Mala.
  5. Rhythm Experience.
  6. Vikku’s Favorite Grooves.

Disc 2 – Comprehensive 2 hour step-by-step percussion instruction taught using the ghatam (clay pot drum), hand percussion, and vocal percussion. The tutorials have an easy-to-read rhythm clef notation on screen and in PDF format which can be downloaded from our site.

Chapter listing:

  1. Guide To Studying The Course And Notation.
  2. Diagram Of Soundwords, Strokes And Notation.
  3. Fundamental Lessons 1-11.
  4. Farehns 1 – Mohra 1.
  5. Phrases In Adi Talaam.
  6. Farehns 2 – Mohra 2.

Disc Info:

  1. Total running time disc 1: 00:54:57
  2. Total running time disc 2: 02:10:36
  3. Number of discs: 2
  4. Release year: 2007
  5. Production company: Ultimate Guru Music Pvt. Ltd.
  6. Language(s): English
  7. Subtitles: English, German, Spanish, Japanese
  8. Format: NTSC, colour, filmed in HD
  9. Sound mix: Stereo
  10. Region code: All regions
  11. Director: D. Wood

PRICE : 999 INR (Shipping Extra*)

For purchase, kindly drop us an email on

Amazing Indian Percussion - 2 (Ghatam Ensemble)